Jackie's Great Adventure, 1st time hatching eggs Ongoing post here!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Maryallison77, Nov 10, 2008.

1. Maryallison77

Maryallison77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2008
    Fountain, Florida
    So I hope some members here at BYC will share this with me. I have had a few other posts about my chicken Jackie and when she went broody.

So My Japanesse Bantam Jackie went broody about 2 months ago. Recently I bought her some eggs off a very nice woman on E-bay. I have never done this before! Few weeks ago I didn't know I could give Jackie eggs--haha [​IMG]

So this is our cute little chicken adventure! Let's see if Jackie can hatch out the eggs!

Here is Jackie in the nestbox before she had the eggs:

[​IMG]

2. swtangel321

swtangel321 ~Crazy Egg Lady~

Jul 11, 2008
    Awww, so cute !!! I hope she can [​IMG] [​IMG]

She looks like she would be a good mama hen !!

Keep us updated !!

3. Sunny Side Up

Sunny Side Up Count your many blessings...

Mar 12, 2008
    Loxahatchee, Florida
    Has she been broody for these past 2 months? If so, that's some dedication! I'm surprised she didn't go purchase her own eggs from Ebay before now. It's always so impressive how these hens can just set for so long, so calm & quiet, without TV or magazines or knitting or cigarettes, simply self-contained in The Broody Zone. Although actually, they're in a state of quiet alertness -- just try to disturb them & you'll get a face-full of defensive Mama hen!

Do let us know how she progresses. It's always fun to watch a Mama hen with baby chickies. I have several mixed-breed bantam hens that keep going broody. For a while I would discourage them by putting them in a separate wire-bottomed cage. Then I decided I should be letting these bantams hatch out eggs from my standard-breed layers. There's sure to be folks willing to buy the pullets, & the cockerels are good enough for the table.