1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Janoel 12

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by MarijkeM, Feb 16, 2017.

1. MarijkeM

MarijkeM New Egg

Feb 16, 2017
    I know that I have seen some old posts on this incubator but I am only new to the "Incubation" world and feeling a little stressed about the eggs I have in the incubator.

I read the manual (as well as I could) you tubed a whole heap of videos (even in french) showing me how to set it up. But the temperature keeps fluctuating from 38.2 (which i read was the start temp) to 39 is this going to matter?

So worried I'm going to fail on these eggs especially since my rooster just died from heat stroke on the weekend and these are the last eggs produced by my girls.

Tell me everything people.... please

2. BobDBirdDog

BobDBirdDog Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 8, 2014
    Tennessee

The temps are always going to be within a range of two temps, it is never going to be steady dead on...too many variables and that goes for all incubators.
    Drop the temp down between 37.8 and 38.2....39.0 is pushing it unless your hatching dragon eggs. but even that higher (39.0) temp is not going to do much damage if you just started, might make them hatch a little sooner than expected.

Speaking of which, in the red above, what incubator do you have? If its the cheaper model, give it time to steady out in the temps, about an hour between adjustment until you get it within ranges. It might take a day to do that.

Also, where in the world are you located? Its February and and I dont know many places where heat stroke would be an issue right now. Must have them inside somewhere. lol