Japanese Bantam x Serama

Discussion in 'Exhibition, Genetics, & Breeding to the SOP' started by Cyprus, Mar 16, 2019.

1. Cyprus

Cyprus Master of the 'never give up' attitude

Jan 19, 2018
    SE Wisconsin
    My Coop
    I have two male mottled Japanese bantams. They are hard enough to come by as it is here, much less the females. My boys are rather large.
    In the interest of lowering their size, and due to limited availability, I purchased today two young black mottled Serama pullets. One is smooth, the other is frizzled.

I'm going to cross breed regardless, but I was curious as the insight and opinions of others. Do you think this will lead to smaller birds? Can I, theoretically, show the F1 crosses as Japs to get an idea of how my efforts are playing out? How much Jap will need to be back in a bird from this cross to be good for show?

Thanks in advance,
    Cyprus

2. NNYchick

NNYchick Songster

Jun 15, 2017
    Harrisville, NY
    I’m still learning about Seramas but 2 things that jump at me right away is your not going to have correct type. With Seramas it’s all about that up right “toy soldier” type so with japs your working against that as thier chest is broad round and carried forward. So either way the genetics go I don’t think you’ll have showable offspring.

3. Cyprus

Jan 19, 2018
    SE Wisconsin
    My Coop
    Understood.
    These two pullets have a stance more like that of Japanese bantams. They don't stand upright at all. And neither did any of the males present

4. NNYchick

NNYchick Songster

Jun 15, 2017
    Harrisville, NY