Jumbo Coturnix Quail Sexing Trouble...

tlgrimmy

Chirping
7 Years
Dec 26, 2012

Hello everybody! I'm brand new to the coturnix quail thing, but am very excited to get started! I just picked these gals (hopefully) up a couple of weeks ago off of craigslist. I was told they're female, but haven't managed to get any eggs out of 'em in a solid three weeks now. I had them indoors and left the light on for a couple of hours after the sun went down to keep the days long and the temps up. No luck! These ones are quite tricky for me to nail down. I see spots on the chests of all of them, but not nearly as many as other females I've seen online. What are your thoughts? Are these all girls? Are they just young? Or did someone pull a fast one on me? Haven't heard any of the tell-tale calls from a coturnix roo and they all enjoy cuddling up together. No one seems to try to dominate, and of course, I haven't seen any mounting. That makes me think they must be females, but I can't explain the lack of eggs (not sure how to tell their age). Oh, and I have them on a turkey and game feed that supposedly has 30% protein. The feed store told me it was their best quality feed for laying hens of all types.

They look like females to me.
Even though there aren't many spots, any signs of spots are an almost definite sign that it's a female.
But, if you're still unsure, you can try vent sexing,
https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=150049
Otherwise, if it's breeding season for your quail (like it is for mine), the males vent will be big, pink and puffy, whilst the females will just be... normal and flat?

Anywho,
Everything you're doing is fine with the lighting and the food protein. The no-egg period is probably just a delay from moving habitats as quail HATE moving.
My quail took over a month to start laying eggs, even though I got them during the middle of spring.