Jumbo Coturnix Requirements

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Hoppelchen, Oct 24, 2010.

1. Hoppelchen

Hoppelchen Out Of The Brooder

Oct 15, 2010
    Hi,

I am considering to keep jumbo coturnix and I'm new to poultry keeping.

Since the jumbos are larger than the regular birds and I don't seem to
    find much technical information relating to them (but plenty for
    regular size birds), I'd like to ask the following:

Space requirements for every stage: 1-15,16-35,36+ for meat birds and
    layers.

How much height do they like?

What size and weight mesh to use for the floor?

How much feeder space per bird per stage?

How much do the birds eat at every stage?

Do the Jumbo birds finish later than the regular size, and if so, what
    is their general schedule for each purpose?

What is the Jumbo's egg laying ability?

What is the average dressed weight of a jumbo carcass? (IIRC, it's 100
    gms for a regular bird)

Can I mix jumbos and regular birds for incubating? Brooding? And if
    so, when do I have to separate them?

many thanks for your help,

Hoppelchen

2. Whitehouse Quail

Whitehouse Quail Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2009
    Michigan
    Quote:

3. Hoppelchen

Hoppelchen Out Of The Brooder

Oct 15, 2010
    Thank you Whiteconfections!

So in essence, the jumbos have roughly the same space requirements as the regulars I take it, other than the height. If they don't boink, would they enjoy a second tier? For example, all my rabbit cages have shelves which are *very* popular.

"They may mature in 8 weeks, but you should aim to process in 10-12-14 weeks."

What is the reason for this?

Another thing I was wondering about is the males, for example, rabbits can have a buck taste if slaughtered much later than 10 weeks, is there a cockerel taste in birds to watch out for?

Also, how large/heavy are the jumbo eggs? If I buy a 60 quail egg incubator (I'm looking at the King Suro) how many jumbos can I fit into this?

thanks again,

Hoppelchen