June 7 & 10 hatch date - Update

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by pattyjean73, May 17, 2009.

1. pattyjean73

pattyjean73 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2009
    NW Arkansas
    This is my first time hatching eggs. I've been looking forward to owning chickens for many many years and I finally get my chance. I joined BYC well over a month ago and have been reading and gleaning as much information as I could. I couldn't find chicks in the colors and breeds that I wanted so I ordered hatching eggs. A neighbor loaned me his still air hova bator. I plugged it in and got the temperature holding steady at 101 degrees. It held for more than 24 hours so I just put the eggs in this morning at 10:30am. I don't have a hydrometer. My neighbor never used one either. He just filled up the water trough every 2 or 3 days and he had great hatch rates. I'm going to follow his lead for this batch and make changes with the next one if needed. I'm crossing my fingers!

I am expecting a second batch of eggs early next week so I went and bought a LG still air incubator and have it running. Only the thermometer wasn't included in the box as it said it was so I'll have to call TSC and see if they'll get me one. If not I'll be making a trip into town to find one. Wish me luck!

Is there anyone else hatching on June 7th? Please join me.

BTW... I forgot to mention. I have 14 BBS Orpington eggs in the bator.

Last edited: Jun 9, 2009
  2. giasmom

giasmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2009
    Woodville, Al
    [​IMG] & good luck !

3. DulcyDoll

DulcyDoll Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2008
    Baltimore, MD
    Good Luck.

I put eggs in yesterday morning, 10:30am lol.. But we will be hatching a little after you, stupid guineas like to draw things out...lol.

I'm expecting on the 11-12 of june

4. pattyjean73

Apr 13, 2009
    NW Arkansas
    Thanks to both of you... and good luck on the guineas

5. FrizzleFreak

FrizzleFreak Chillin' With My Peeps