1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Just a newbie here!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by jatsma, Aug 20, 2016.

1. jatsma

jatsma Out Of The Brooder

Jul 10, 2015
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    I have 29 chickens unsexed about 4 months old. Seems like I have 70% roosters(lots of crowing). There are some chickens in the flock that have feathers missing from their backs. Like they've been plucked out . Is that normal behaviour like the pecking order? Or could it possibly be something else? They are in a 10x10 coop with a 5x5 run (in the process of making a movable run as well) and will be killing all roosters eventually.

Last edited: Aug 20, 2016
  2. rosemarythyme

rosemarythyme Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 3, 2016
    Pac NW
    My guess is they're overcrowded and stressed and turning on each other because of that. Your coop is a little tight and the run space is really tight. Is there anything available for them to play with or to otherwise distract them from picking at each other?

3. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Feathers missing from the backs of pullets indicates over mating (if that is what you are observing) but feather pecking due to stress and overcrowding may be contributory factors. I'd suggest getting rid of your cockerels ASAP.

Your coop, whilst a very tight squeeze, may just be enough for some many 4 month olds (but won't be once they are adult size), but your run area is woefully inadequate for so many birds. General rules of thumb, per bird are 4sqft in the coop and 10sqft for the run. The more space your flock has, the happier and healthier it will be.

Here's a link that may help - https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/how-much-room-do-chickens-need

CT