Just a rant...and a legit question

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by hesklj2008, Apr 17, 2017.

1. hesklj2008

hesklj2008 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 20, 2015
    So I met these people over the weekend. They were super excited to talk to me about chickens and wanted to show me their set-up and all of that. Which normally is really fun! But these people...yikes. There were SO many things wrong! Like housing 12 chickens in this little tiny shed (think the size of a large closet) with no access to the outdoors (they think they are too young-even though half or more of them are fully feathered), then their plans for their outside run are sketchy-I don't think they had any real intention of giving them a run until I brought it up! And while I am not an expert, I have had chickens for four years and have done a ton of research-I have a happy healthy flock. I felt like they really just thought they could get these chickens on a whim and it would just fall into place.

The legit question is this: how do you guys deal with people like this? I don't pretend to know everything and am always learning more-how do you tell someone that the things they are doing are unsafe and unhealthy and irresponsible at best? I swear I just want to sneak over and rescue these poor babies!

2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Lots of Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    I just mention stuff I've noticed and see if they are open for suggestions. It's possible they have no clue and just need to learn. Those that get irritated you can't help. Otherwise suggesting they check out this site could help them see their mistakes.

There are plenty of folks who keep chickens in a manner I never will. Either it works for them or it doesn't and than they end up needing to fix stuff or to give up the hobby.

1 person likes this.
  3. bobbi-j

bobbi-j Chicken Obsessed

Mar 15, 2010
    On the MN prairie.