Just discovered a rat...

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Just wingin' it, Jan 12, 2010.

1. Just wingin' it

Just wingin' it New Egg

Jun 15, 2009
    ....near the chicken coop. Our coop and run is built along a retaining wall of massive concrete stones which he can fit between and must be tunneling behind. As the coop is off the ground and the chicken food inaccessible, I am pretty sure he is raiding miscellaneous food scraps from the run.

I am still a newbie to the chook world so would welcome some basics on rats. IE: Will they harm the chooks? Will they transmit disease? Should I be concerned and work to exterminate or should I simply change the food scrapping?
    In short I would like to understand why rats are/could be a problem and what to do about it.

Thanks for any words of wisdom you may have to offer!

2. You should IMMEDIATELY declare WAR on these critters. They multiply, well, like RATS !!

They WILL NOT go away unless you make them go away. They are clever and industrious.

Put out RAT traps were you think they are at. If you have seen one, you probably have dozens.

You may think it is the same rat coming back for seconds, it is not, it is a different. one.

They are there for a reason. They have food and water within 25 feet. This is a common knowledge thing.

I have had them in my barn and ignoring them got me NOWHERE. I had to take very aggressive actions

The WILL try for small chicks, but a hen or roo is pretty much out of their league.

3. gsim

gsim Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2009
    East Tennessee