Just finished my coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by cmknight, Oct 4, 2012.

1. cmknight

cmknight Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 4, 2012
    Rexburg, ID
    My Coop
    I am new to raising chickens and just got done building my coop. I browsed on here for a long time to get ideas and advice on how best to do a lot of things like roosts, nesting boxes, and run. I have added pictures
    [​IMG]

The back side of the coop. The left side are the two nesting boxes. The box on the right I call the "water box". It contains a five gallon bucket that I plumbed with some pvc to carry water to a watering cup inside the coop and down to the area underneath the coop.

[​IMG]

Here is the inside. You can see the two nesting boxes. This is the first watering cup that goes to the inside. I put down vinyl flooring to make it easier to clean.

[​IMG]

This in the roost with a little plexiglass window. Below the roost, I put a piece of chicken wire where to poop will fall through to a draw that I can pull out and make it much easier to clean. The bottom of the drawer is also lined with vinyl to ease up cleaning.

[​IMG]

This is the area below the coop. The chickens can get out of the sun or rain. You can also see the second watering cup that comes out the bottom. I also hung the feed bucket under hear.

[​IMG]

This is the front of the coop. A ramp leading from the chicken door to the run. I large enough door for me to walk through and clean the run. And the run roof is covered with corrugated fiberglass. I also put a small window in the door to the inside of the coop.

[​IMG]

This is the lid to the nesting boxes. Makes it easy to get the eggs.