Just Have to Know... The Speculations are Driving Us Bananas...Male or Female??

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by kdtcameron, Feb 24, 2012.

1. kdtcameron

kdtcameron Out Of The Brooder

Feb 24, 2012
    Hi everyone! I am new to chickens as well as BYC (my whole family loves this site now).

I was given seven, 1 week old chicks at Christmas time as a present from my good friend that knew I had been talking about getting chickens for years and finally helped me take the plunge.

The girls are a mixture of different breeds according to what my friend told me. I am dying to know which one(s) are roosters and which are hens. I had hoped for one rooster, but am afraid after the recent "crowing"/squaking that's started, I may have more than one. I am now actually thinking that 4 of the seven might be roosters,[​IMG] (which breaks my heart since we would only keep one. I've been told having 2 or more roosters can lead to fights, not to mention cuts down on the potential number of eggs). While my friend has told me that there's no way to tell until one lays eggs after 5 - 6 months, I am still hoping someone with some experience can give us a clue. Apparently hens will sometimes crow like roosters when they are "trying out their voices." Is that correct?

Anyway, here are a few pictures. Since none of them are of the same breed, comparing them with one another doesn't help. We do have 2 sets that look like twins, but the other 3 seem different. If anyone can let us know what we've got, that would be fantastic!!! We haven't had any eggs yet, but am hoping soon. They are 11 weeks, 2 days shy of turning 3 months.

Thanks everybody... sorry for such a long initial post...looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

[​IMG]
    This is Chicken #1 - there are two chickens like this that look almost identical. They are both pretty large, this one is the largest of the brood.

[​IMG]

This is Chicken #2... Grumpy Gus. We suspect her to be a hen.

[​IMG]