Just joined

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by kwoody88, Sep 22, 2011.

1. kwoody88

kwoody88 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 22, 2011
    Birmingham, AL
    I got my first chicks in March 2011 and have been really enjoying them. I have 7 Black Australorps, all hens, and raised them and now they are laying [​IMG] Hoping to get more soon! Located in Birmingham, AL

I also am a huge dog lover, and have 3 dogs myself. I foster dogs for an area rescue though, and currently have 6 foster puppies and an older foster dog. And I live in the city! (Chickens are against local ordinance, but my neighbors love them!)

2. kwoody88

Sep 22, 2011
    Birmingham, AL
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

3. icedover4ever

icedover4ever New Egg

Sep 22, 2011
    Hey there. I'm a newbie too. In fact, I'm still considering the idea of getting some chickens. I'm not far from you. I live in the outskirts of Birmingham way out in the woods. My kids really want some chickens and I like the idea of having my own fresh eggs and the idea of the kids learning to care for the chickens. I'm just a little nervous about the work that it will require from me. I have kids, dogs and cats so the thought of adding more living creatures to care for worries me. I don't want to take on more than I can handle.

4. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Howdy from Kansas, kwoody88 and [​IMG]. Fine looking chicks you have there. [​IMG] I have mixed flock of pullets I ordered and two of them are BA. Best of luck to you and your birds. [​IMG]

5. greymane

greymane Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 2, 2011
    Snyder County, PA
    [​IMG] from the Finger Lakes of New York! So glad you joined us. Love the pics!!

[​IMG]

6. kwoody88

Sep 22, 2011
    Birmingham, AL