Just joined

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by izzie, Sep 7, 2014.

1. izzie

izzie Out Of The Brooder

Sep 7, 2014
    Hi
    As a newbie I'd like to share my first success
    I had broody so took 4 eggs about 6 days old kept in the kitchen put them under her didn't know if I would b successful day 20 first chick 21 2 more 23 unfertilised egg mum and chicks healthy and happy[​IMG]
    However I had another hen who I thought had escaped found her 4 days later tucked away under a nesting box how she got under I don't know had to take thing down retrieved her and 8 eggs!!! So put her on her own safely with eggs but she did leave eggs 5 hours but put her back where's she's stayed fingers crossed I might b successful again day 20 today

2. gander007

gander007 Chicken Obsessed

Alright [​IMG] great to have you joining the BYC flock [​IMG]

BYC has a very useful learning center [​IMG]

Sounds like you are doing well with your broody's [​IMG]

My worst offender of being broody

[​IMG]
    Her early July hatch ...

[​IMG]
    Here she is checking on some new chicks to steel ...

[​IMG]
    Her first flock ..

[​IMG]
    Now her second hatch for the year Sep 2014 ..

[​IMG]
    Funny she is only 35 weeks old now ....

Good luck with your poultry ventures .....

gander007 [​IMG]

3. izzie

izzie Out Of The Brooder

Sep 7, 2014
    Wow she's done u proud I am besotted with my chicks just hoping my second broody can hatch but I am concerned she left them and not sure if they were even fertile although she was with bongo our cockrel .. Named by my granddaughter time will tell .. Nice to meet u

4. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC! Glad you decided to join our flock. Congratulations! It's always exciting to get a hatch. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Good luck with your next hatch.

5. izzie

izzie Out Of The Brooder

Sep 7, 2014
    Thankyou