Just locked down and need help

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Bigbill, Apr 23, 2011.

1. Bigbill

Bigbill New Egg

Apr 10, 2011
    First off let me say that this site is awesome, and i love how helpful you've all been. Thank you. This is my first time hatching and I just locked down 90 coturnix quail. It's day 14 and as soon as I took them out of the turner and put them on the wire, some of them began shaking. My questions are: is this normal, and how soon could I start seeing them pip?

2. JJMR794

JJMR794 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2009
    BROOKSVILLE FL
    Yep And Anytime Between 12 Hrs And 5 Days

3. Fat Daddy

Fat Daddy Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 11, 2010
    Ks
    Quote:Welcome Bigbill, If you have a average hatch rate, I would expect some where between 40 to 50 fuzz balls in the next few days. Have you a brooder set up? 2, 90 to 105 qt totes would'nt be too many. In 2 weeks, they will be crowded in 2 totes. Around 95 to 100 degs is a good target temp.

Shallow quail water fount or chick fount with marbles and a jar lid with Game Bird Startena are always in mine too. Some folks grind the feed to corn meal like size, some dont. I do like to sprinkle feed all over my brooder floors, which is covered with the non-skid shelf liner for the first week, then I go to pine chips. This way where ever a chick falls a sleep and drops his head, theres food right there. They will find water by them selves, food is another matter.

There is a thread about hatching in cartons, or up right, I think its worth reading. Folks have good hatches both ways, but the upright position allows for a higher humidity level to be maintained and less chance of drowning chicks. Higher humidity helps eliminate "shrink wrapped" chicks. Both are a common cause for chick loss just after a chick pips the egg. If you have questions, just post up and some one will surely help you out. I learn from this site everyday, Im sure you will too. Bill

Last edited: Apr 24, 2011
  4. joe125