1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

just looking for some advice

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by OkValleyGirl, Mar 22, 2016.

1. OkValleyGirl

OkValleyGirl Out Of The Brooder

Mar 10, 2016
    Is this a rooster or hen what breed is it? I'm thinking it's a rooster but it doesn't have long feathers
    He or she can't walk adopted it like that.. thanks for the help..[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. harmesonfarm

harmesonfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 7, 2015
    Nanaimo, BC
    looks to me like a rooster, maybe a barred rock?

I'm a newbie too so hopefully someone with more knowledge/ experience can comment!

3. OkValleyGirl

OkValleyGirl Out Of The Brooder

Mar 10, 2016
    I am new too ..

4. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Sits With Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    It looks like a young barred rock rooster that probably has Mareks.

5. harmesonfarm

Oct 7, 2015
    Nanaimo, BC
    is not walking a symptom/ result of mereks? how old would a chicken be to have that sign show?

6. oldhenlikesdogs

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Mareks is a viral form of cancer that causes internal tumors, the first signs are usually seen at around 5 months or so, paralysis is the main symptoms, there are other things like botulism and spinal injuries that cause problems too.

7. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    There is also ocular Mareks which affects the eyes.. Put "The great big Mareks thread," in the search box and you can find out a lot about the disease. Survivors will be carriers for life.

2 people like this.
  8. harmesonfarm

Oct 7, 2015
    Nanaimo, BC