Just lost one of our girls...what happened?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chickenhaven, Nov 20, 2011.

1. chickenhaven

chickenhaven New Egg

Nov 20, 2011
    Hi, I am new to chicken raising and new to this forum. I am looking for some support to understand what may have caused one of our hens to die rather suddenly. Of course, I am wondering if I did something wrong out of ignorance and trying to educate myself so that it this is less likely to happen again.

Penny, a Buff Orpington, was 9 months old. She was fine all day Friday but Saturday morning was hiding on the floor under the nest boxes. When I checked her later that day, she was weak but able to move a little. I cleaned offer her bottom which was a mess from diarrhea. There was some white liquid diarrhea on the shaving under her but there were more solids stuck in the feathers around her vent. Her eyes were alert so we decided to see if she would perk up by the next day. Sunday morning she was still hiding under the next boxes but moved around a little. When I held her she was listless. We decided to bring her inside where we could watch her more closely. We made her some oatmeal with probiotics which she didn't touch. Also we gave her some water with electrolytes. This I actually fed to her with an eye dropper. About 3 half droppers carefully fed to her inside her beak. About ten minutes later I went to check on her. She began to kick and convulse and then died. Did I give her too much liquid? Too much electrolytes? Any other probable causes?

The other 7 hens are all healthy and happily roaming the yard. They free range. Is it possible that Penny ate a poisonous plant? Is there anything I need to do to keep the rest of the flock healthy?

I would appreciate any thoughts and insight.

2. anderson8505

anderson8505 Peace, Love & Happy Chickens

I suppose poisonous something is possible. Coccidosis?

3. chicknmania

chicknmania Overrun With Chickens Premium Member