Just need some information

LouLou44

Chirping
Apr 2, 2018
Georgia
My hen has been sitting her her 10-11 eggs for 4 days now, I heard they will hatch between 20-23 days. Is that correct.? And when they hatch should I remove them and bring them in? I am new to everything.. help lol

A good roo will actually help with the chicks. Each situation is different. If you have eggs that were added to the clutch after the hen started setting, you may end up with a staggered hatch. The hen will take the early chicks off the nest and abandon the rest. If you want to save them all, you will need an incubator.

Even though you are not incubating those eggs, I suggest that you go to the learning center and start reading: "Hatching eggs 101" will have some articles about embryo development, how to candle an egg, how to do an assisted hatch (you should not need to do so, but having the knowledge will prepare you for any situation). There are also articles about managing the broody hen, and incubation. Also, read @Blooie 's articles about MHP, so you will be prepared if the hen hatches her eggs, but abandons the chicks.

No, you should not remove the chicks from her, unless she attacks them. She may give them an occasional rap on the head. That's hen speak for "Hey you little twit, listen to me when I tell you to do something."

You might also want to dust her nest with permethrin. A sitting hen is a target for mites and lice.

Do not provide any supplemental heat. Mama will take care of all the chick needs including feeding them and keeping them appropriately warm.

Yes it usually takes 21 days for eggs to hatch unless you have a staggered hatch. Did you mark your eggs?