Just ordered my 1st chicks....

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by besjoux, Apr 10, 2012.

1. besjoux

besjoux Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2012
    After lots of research I decided on 4 golden laced Wyandotte's, 4 barred rock, and 4 Easter egger's. Now for the questions....

I live in Michigan and we expect to have our shipment the last week of June. It should be quite warm here. Do you still use a light? Or only at night? Obviously, I am going to have one on hand. Besides starter food what else do you recommend? I have a lot more time to research and hopefully enough to build our coop. We plan on using our horse troughs for a brooder since we already have them and then should move them in a few weeks to the coop that we built. We might not have the run completed but would that matter right away? Or should we do it all right away?

Any other tips that you can think of or helpful links? I've been reading a lot. I have very little knowledge but have taken care of a friends hen's before. She did have free range with a rooster (though I'm not doing a rooster because I have young children and don't want my kids to be scared to go outside). Haven't decided yet if we will do free range. Probably not until they are fully grown so next spring at the earliest. Not sure if you can start free range in the winter or if that makes no sense. Either way, we will have a run to fall back on.

2. Aeropennchick

Aeropennchick Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2012
    Southern PA
    Hello and welcome!!