Just put 4 eggs in the incubator, now what?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by 15shenyl, Mar 14, 2013.

1. 15shenyl

15shenyl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2012
    Yakima Washington
    I put 4 eggs in the incubator today and this is my first time hatching. I would like a few tips please? Also, can you turn an egg too much? I feel like my egg turner isn't really turning the eggs so I go in every once in a while to push the cycle button again, is that ok? Also, I have no idea how the humidity levels work. Right now I think I have the screw on the bottle half way but I have no idea what the humidity levels are to be at. Any info about anything I should know would be highly welcome too.

2. The Chickeneer

The Chickeneer ~A Morning's Crow~

Hey, glad to hear we have another egg hatcher here. [​IMG]

Im not sure what kind of incubator or turner you have, but the egg turner should turn the eggs automatically, so there really is no need for you to do it. Egg turners tilt the egg side to side about 4 times every hour, so it goes really slow and you can't see it moving, but if you can hear the slight hum of the motor, then it is working just fine.

The humidity can be very tricky, people like to set it to their own preference, but its typicaly at around 45% to 50% the first 18 days and raised to 65% to 75% the last three days. They need the higher humidity the last three days to help them hatch easier, also take out their turner and lay them on their side and don't turn them the last three days, so they can position themselves right for hatching. To keep track of humidity, you can buy a hyrometer, they usually sell them at hardware stores and pet stores.

3. 15shenyl

15shenyl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2012
    Yakima Washington