1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Just put two-day-olds under broody - DH worried they will suffocate

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by bawkbawkbawk, Jun 16, 2011.

1. bawkbawkbawk

bawkbawkbawk Chillin' With My Peeps

I've never seen any posts suggesting baby chicks can suffocate under a broody mama, but my husband is concerned about it. Should I worry?

2. bawkbawkbawk

Anyone?

3. welasharon

welasharon Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2010
    North Florida
    I don't think so. I am amazed at how my itty bitty serama can tuck three babies up under her and still look so flat!

4. bawkbawkbawk

I just don't hear any peeping - does that mean they're happy? Or something bad? [​IMG]

5. welasharon

Jun 28, 2010
    North Florida
    Now I'm no expert but mine don't peep unless they are either out from under her or at least have their heads out. Mama hens were made to tuck those little ones up under there. And really, if she hasn't smothered them (which I have not ever heard of) then they will be fine...if she has, there wouldn't be anything you could do to change it....so relax and quit worrying about it. How long has she had them?

6. bawkbawkbawk

It's only been an hour - DH was so frantic we went in and lifted her off of them - all five alive. I've never heard of chicks suffocating under a mama hen but he got worried about it so then I did, too. Can you tell we're new at this? [​IMG]

Now we wait to see if she accepts them, which I know is the real test.

7. welasharon

Jun 28, 2010
    North Florida
    Hahaha! Well leave her alone. She knows what to do. In a day or so she should have them out moving around and about. Have fun!

8. karimw

karimw Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2010
    Eastern IA