Just raised two baby chicks without a heat lamp

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by dawnbigfoot, Sep 3, 2016.

1. dawnbigfoot

dawnbigfoot New Egg

Jul 10, 2015
    This is my first time raising baby chicks, but I've been a spectator as friends have raised them. I had three chickens, and over the years, two died, leaving one lonely hen. So, I opted to bring in two new baby chicks (as I tried bringing in adolescents before and they just never really acclimated to me). It's Sacramento and it's been a triple digit summer. I initially bought a heat lamp and ended up returning it. For the first week, I kept them in a ventilated rubbermaid container in the garage. Then, I moved that container out into the run behind a divider (so big chicken couldn't get to them). They'd stay out there during the day and come back inside in the garage at night. The garage never got below 75 degrees at night, and they seemed happy enough in there (with bedding/straw).

When they turned about 2 weeks (maybe 2.5) and were half feathered, I left them out there full time, behind the divider. They seemed happy as clams. Now, it's September, and the weather is in the 80s, they are fully feathered, and about 4 weeks old, I just removed the divider. The big chicken seems to ignore them and only occasionally huff at them if they are pecking around the food where she is. I have placed a bowl of their chick feed inside the rubbermaid container (I cut out a little hole so they can fit, but big chick cannot). There are two water bowls in the run along with a watering tube. The baby chicks can get inside the rubbermaid container and behind it (between it and the fence) to stay away from big hen if they like.

Fingers crossed but so far, so good.

But I do have a couple of questions -- I've read chicks should be on medicated feed for 8 weeks. Is that about right? If big hen eats the medicated feed, are the eggs okay to eat for either myself or the dogs?

-Dawn-

2. SueT