Just seeking info/advice -- I am a COMPLETE novice

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by PennStater, Feb 12, 2008.

1. PennStater

PennStater New Egg

Feb 12, 2008
    Hello all,

I must say I have been so impressed with the forum you all have here -- everyone seems very nice and helpful. That being said, I hope you will not mind answering a few questions that you've probably answered a million times. But here goes.

I am an avid gardener and animal lover who recently has been thinking about getting some chickens for my backyard. I have two young children and I think they would love, and learn from, the experience. Here are my basic questions:

1. My backyard is not "small" but it's not huge either. I used to have a much bigger yard (3/4 of an acre) but our new yard (fenced backyard) is probably closer to 1/4 of an acre. Is that too small for, say, 3 or 4 chickens?

2. How big a coop do I need -- 4X4 or so?

3. My backyard is fenced but it's a lower fence -- maybe 4 feet high. Is this a problem?

4. As I mentioned, I love gardening and am curious whether the birds will disturb/destroy my perennial gardens.

Thanks so much in advance.

2. countrygirl4513

countrygirl4513 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2007
    Portland TN
    Yes they will destroy your garden. Mine nailed my hostas! They just gobbled them up. They will scratch and dust all in it. I have to fence off what I don't want them to bother. Personally, as far as a coop I have spoiled mine. They live in a 8x12 house it's also 8 ft tall. I just like to make sure they have all the room they need for roosting, laying etc. So I'm not the best at advising on coop size. There are those who have chicken tractors maybe they will chime in here soon. I have a 4 ft fence all around my huge chickenyard. But they never stay in it I let mine free range. I've not had any problem with them flying over it when they are inside the run.

3. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007