Just started laying! NEED ADVISE PLEASE!!!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by magoochie, Dec 27, 2010.

1. magoochie

magoochie Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 26, 2010
    Grantsburg, WI
    Hey folks. This is my first year with chickens, and I have 2 hens that just started laying. I got them this past July as chicks. I have 5 roosters and 7 hens in total, all different breeds and a couple mutts. The 2 hens started laying just 2 days before Christmas!

Now, I live in NW WI and its been cold up here, and we have over a foot of snow. Is this normal for hens to lay this time of year? or BEGIN laying when its 12 degrees outside? I have even had to lean plywood against the coop to keep the snow from drifting in.

I am averaging 2-3 eggs a day. Of course the roosters are still in with them, so a few of them had been fertilized. But I dont have a bator and I dont know that I should let them hatch when it is this cold?

I know the hen should be able to do her job, im just worried about them hatching at the end of January when its still below 0 temps. I cant bring them in the house because i have 3 cats and a dog, and there is no place to put them.

Do you think I should throw the eggs out until I can get the roosters separated? Should I let her try to hatch them?

We will be building a new coop in the spring and my husband says he will build a room on it for a hatchery. [​IMG]

Here is a picture of the coop. (summer and winter) I have hay on the inside along with a heat lamp, but it isnt draft free by any means. Please help. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

The hen that is sitting on the nest is a Black Australorp, and there is one other mutt hen that the roosters have been mating with.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 27, 2010
  2. LarryPQ

LarryPQ Easter Hatch!!

Jul 17, 2009
    Um...why not just chuck her off the nest and eat the eggs? So long as you are gathering the eggs everyday, they should be perfectly edible.

3. Tdub4chiks