Just starting out

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Ides0mar, Apr 3, 2018.

1. Ides0mar

Ides0mar In the Brooder

Apr 3, 2018
    Hello to all. Just starting this adventure that is chickens and realizing how much I don’t know.
    For now we have 8 that are approaching their second week in a brooder box under heat lamp with a dimmer switch. They are eating a grower feed and getting probiotics in their water. Bedding is changed every other day. Past that I have zero idea what I’m doing.
    Building the run and coop in the next week. Run will be 12x8x7 fully enclosed with wire and coop will be 4x8x6.5.
    They will be allowed to roam the property during the day time. But due to coyotes, they will be in their run and coop at night. Climate is pretty mild (Southern California)
    I’m scanning forums and learning but what would you all suggest to a complete newbie.
    Thanks for whatever advice you have. image.jpg image.jpg

2. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams

G'Day from down under Ides0mar :frowWelcome and Congratulations! :clap

I hope you enjoy being a BYC member. There are lots of friendly and very helpful folks here so not only is it overflowing with useful information it is also a great place to make friends and have some fun.

BYC has Topic of the Week discussions which I have found to be a great resource, informative and sometimes entertaining; so definitely worth checking out. These two may be of particular interest:
    Topic of the Week - Getting Started, Keeping Chickens
    Topic of the Week - Keeping the Flock Safe from Predators

Adorable little ones! If you would like to share Pictures and Stories of them, you have come to the right place. BYC’ers never tire of these and do not back away slowly or commence eye rolling when the photo album or home videos come out ;)