Just want to say, Aloha from Hawaii!

Discussion in 'Family Life - Stories, Pictures & Updates' started by April Fountain, Dec 18, 2008.

1. April Fountain

April Fountain Out Of The Brooder

Dec 17, 2008
    Hawaii
    Aloha from the Big Island.[​IMG]
    I am new to any kind of forums but this site seems so friendly that I have decided to give it a go and say hi. I live in a rainforest area of the Island, sometimes with my husband who is a sailor and therefore is gone a lot. So usually it's just me, 2 roosters (one who is becoming a problem child), 1 older (about 5 years old I think), RIR who still is a good layer, one very old banty hen who mainly sits in her box, 2 unidentified chickens that hardly produce any eggs, and 8 young (about 5 month old) Rhode Island Reds that I call the Dixie Chicks (cause they came from Texas!!) lately I just call them "The Football Team" because they run like crazy when they see me or any human. [​IMG] They are free range on our property and lately have been roaming quite far afield which is a bit worrysome. They always seem to come home though and so far none of the neighbors have complained. My husband during one of his brief times at home built them a chicken coop which I'm having some design problems with right now, but i'll check around on this site and see if I can find some answers to my questions first. Let me just say that I LOVE MY CHICKENs, even if they are poop monsters. Man can they ever poop! I had no idea until we had this coop that I have to clean out every morning. [​IMG]
    Ok this is getting too long now so I'll say goodbye and Alllllloha.
    April Fountain- near Pahoa on the Big Island of Hawaii.[​IMG]

2. cjeanean

cjeanean Can't Decide

Mar 5, 2008
    Missouri
    [​IMG]

3. PortageGirl

PortageGirl Chillin' With My Peeps

How nice to meet you!! [​IMG] Welcome to the coop!

4. KellyHM

KellyHM Overrun With Chickens

Sep 10, 2008
    Lakeland, FL
    [​IMG]