Just wanted to say thanks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Joanna_K, Aug 12, 2011.

1. Joanna_K

Joanna_K New Egg

Aug 12, 2011
    Hi all,
    I am new to chickens, just got my little backyard flock of hens started at the first of June. I've been reading and learning so much on BYC, and so appreciate the information on this site.
    About 5 weeks ago, my 10 month old Buff Orpington went very, very broody. Her first time, and mine as well. A friend had fertile eggs and gave me 10 for this little hen to set. I would read BYC posts for hours: how to candle the eggs, how to make sure the hen ate and drank, what a safe nesting area for her would be, how to be patient while the chicks peeped and then pipped and then hatched. Honestly, I don't know how I could have done it with out you guys.[​IMG]
    So, on August sixth, my first chick hatched. On the seventh, seven more hatched. Then one more came on the eighth, followed by the last (very, very late) one on the ninth. Mama and babies are doing great. She's a natural, protective but not aggressive, and the little ones are thriving.
    I want to thank you all for the info and help that you've given me this past month. And also, in a situation that was brand new for me and this lovely hen, I didn't feel alone.
    Sincerely, thank you.[​IMG]

2. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

[​IMG]

What a great first post.

Imp

3. dldolan

dldolan WineNChooks

Aug 11, 2010
    Sonoma County, CA
    Wow! That is how I have felt many time since finding this forum! Thanks for the story of your broody and congrats!

4. ThePigeonKid

ThePigeonKid Chillin' With My Peeps

May 24, 2010
    Ohio - Chickens 3yrs
    [​IMG]

5. Kaeta44

Kaeta44 Chillin' With My Peeps

Well done for taking the time to check what you needed to do. Some people just buy chickens and other pets without bothering to find out anything at all about their needs.

http://muckycluckers.blogspot.com/

6. turbodog