Keep or rehome rooster?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by mcbridb, Jun 27, 2011.

1. mcbridb

mcbridb Out Of The Brooder

May 10, 2011
    I am fairly new to the chicken keeping thing. Have only been doing it a year. My son is autistic and pestered us for a year for chickens and ducks. A friend with a farm gave us 1 RIR rooster and hen (Rudy and Peaches) and a golden cochin hen (Henrietta). Another friend gave us a silkie hen (Miss Priss). Miss Priss was already laying when we got her. Rudy, Peaches and Henrietta were approximately 10 weeks. After quarantine time was up for Miss Priss (we received her 1 month after the first 3) we added her to the coop. About a month later we had to take Miss Priss out because Rudy had injured her with his mating. She and Henrietta are in one coop and Rudy and Peaches are in another.

I got the smart idea to add 2 hens to Rudy and Peaches this spring. They are sex link hens (?) who my son named Rose and Peebles. After quanatine we tried to add them to Rudy and Peaches' pen. Rudy jumped on them and was pulling feathers and pecking their necks really bad so they ended up with Henrietta and Miss Priss.

We socialized with all of them from day one. My son would hold all of them, collect the eggs after they started laying and "help" with the coop care. This past spring Rudy has turned super aggressive. He has attacked me numerous time and will chase my son around the yard if I let him and Peaches out to roam. That was one reason behind getting him new hens. I have tried the rooster taming thing of catching him, holding him, pulling his head down, stalking him. Nothing seems to work.