keeping baby chicks warm

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by big chic, Apr 7, 2012.

1. big chic

big chic New Egg

Apr 7, 2012
    I am very new to this. I got 5 chicks one week ago. They were supposed to be 1-1 1/2 weeks old then. I have kept them in the laundry room and they seem to be doing very well. I have been reading about keeping a light on them at temperatures of 80-85 degrees. I have been keeping the house furnave on at night but it is not 80 degrees in here. Do they really need this extra warm temperature? If it is a comforable temperature in my house, isn't that enough? I am not comfortable keeping a light on them. I am afraid I will have it too hot. I have had them 1 week and they seem fine. should I be able to tell if htey are too cold?
    I would like to let them outside for a while in the day. The ouside temperature is about 70 degrees. My coop is not built yet and I can only imagine how worried I will be when they go outside by themselves. Is this extra warm temperature so they will survive or does it have something to do with their development? Thank you.

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    I am not alone on BYC in feeling that we tend to keep them too warm. If they spread out when they sleep, they are fine, IMO. If they're cold, they will pile one on top of another. They will cuddle or snuggle up against one another if they are comfortable, but not pile. Years ago I saw some chicks who got too cold and had piled and suffocated the ones on the bottom: they were about 5 deep. These chicks were outdoors in a shed with one 100 watt light bulb, in winter temps, and they were a few days old.