Keeping chickens in a coop

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by geeber, May 4, 2009.

1. geeber

geeber Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2009
    PNW
    I'm thinking about getting a couple of chickens -- however, I'm not sure about housing them.
    Will chickens be okay in an 8' x 8' tool shed most of the day? I would let them out in the evening when I'm home.

Building skills I do not have, so I'm not able to build a preditor safe run.

I want to be sure I'm able to keep my future chickens safe & happy.

2. Malou-La-Croix

Malou-La-Croix Out Of The Brooder

Apr 12, 2009
    Central Florida
    I am brand new to byc too. Just bought 2 golden comets age 8 weeks. They currently live in a big dog crate at night until I can convince my stepdad to come help me build a coop! I let them free range in my backyard when I am out there (I work from home so I can sit outside with my laptop). I have been studying all the great coops on this site and am thinking of refurbishing my aluminum tool shed into a coop. I will post photos if I do that. Good luck!

3. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    Tool sheds usually have no light or ventilation, so no, sorry.

You'd be surprised how many coops on here in the coop section were built by people who had never built anything before. Check them out.

4. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    I agree with ddawn. Life in an old tool shed wouldn't be a very good one for happy, healthy chickens.

5. Chicken03

Chicken03 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2009
    Western Pa
    I have 14 golden comets in an old tool shed. I cut ventilation hole in the top and a hole with a little door so they can get out to their run.

6. geeber

geeber Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2009
    PNW
    Well, my tool shed I guess is really a garden shed. There is an east facing window. I would ventulate the upper walls as well.