Keeping chickens safe

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Jerry613, Jan 2, 2014.

1. Jerry613

Jerry613 New Egg

Jan 2, 2014
    Hi my name is Jerry . I live in Clyde, TX. Just outside Abilene. I am new to raising chickens. I am buying my 1st 25 in early Febuary. They are going to be totally free range. The coop I have is 11 ft. by 12 ft and is solidly reinforced. Also plenty of warm raised cubbie holes and warm out of the wind places to nest. My question is do i keep a chicken door to the coop open all day so they can come in at night? what about cats or something getting in that chicken door during the day? They wont be fenced in and there is virtually no dogs at all aroud just a few cats. So if I leave the chicken run door open during the day wont other animals get in ?

2. maxpedley

maxpedley Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 31, 2013
    If they are totally free range their won't be a run. Only a coop. If you are referring to the coop it should be kept open all day and shut at night. This allows them to roost safely at night but lay eggs throughout the day. Cats are usually no problem with chickens and the chickens will usually show who is boss. However keeping them totally free range without some sort of protection like dogs is unwise. There are many predators who will make a quick snack out of chickens....

3. Jerry613

Jerry613 New Egg

Jan 2, 2014
    ok thanks

4. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Unfortunately free ranging chickens are never safe, there are many predators that love a free chicken dinner. Your coop should be open during the day so the birds can go in to get out of inclement weather and to lay their eggs, and be closed at night to protect them from even more numerous night time predators (it is very likely that there are all sorts of animals in your area that you do not see as they are only active after dark).

5. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010