Keeping coturnix inside your house?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by PoultryParadise, Dec 13, 2010.

1. PoultryParadise

PoultryParadise Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 30, 2010
    I am interested in keeping a few of my new Coturnix inside the house. What is the best mess free (or as little mess as possible) way anyone can think of. I was thinking of keeping 4 females and one male inside, and the rest outside. Would a rabbit cage work? Should they be on wire top to keep mess down? Does anyone else keep a few indoors over winter?
    I just want eggs.[​IMG]

2. Hooligan Farm

Hooligan Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 24, 2010
    Burlington County, NJ
    All of mine are indoors. I have my Bachelor Mansion which has a wire floor and 4 hens and a male in a rabbit cage. In the rabbit cage I have pine shavings. The Frat House gets straw and both have a sand box.

3. Robo

Robo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2010
    Knoxville,TN
    If you are keeping a small number I would keep them in a wire rabbit cage with a drop pan like the ones they sell at TSC. You will have to change it quite often because quail have a high ammonia smell in their poop.

4. Whitehouse Quail

Whitehouse Quail Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2009
    Michigan
    Where are you from? Coturnix do fine outdoors in VERY cold weather... mine are in a barn and it got down to 0* last night, and they are still kicking out the eggs! [​IMG]

5. Robo

Robo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2010
    Knoxville,TN
    Do you mean ice cubes?

6. PoultryParadise

Nov 30, 2010
    Quote:I'm up in canada. It will get down to -40 Celcius at night during part of the winter

7. Wifezilla

Wifezilla Positively Ducky

Oct 2, 2008
    Colorado