1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Keeping mites/ticks at bay?

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Carry on clucking, Apr 12, 2011.

1. Carry on clucking

Carry on clucking New Egg

Apr 11, 2011
    Hi to all,

I am new to BYC and to keeping chooks in general. I have moved to an old farm house that has an existing old chook pen. I got some chickens only to discover that they were starting to dye off. After inspecting a couple I have discoverd they were covered in mites/ticks.

I have dipped the chooks in a powerful insect killer stuff, and have been told to spread lime in the chook pen. I have checked the chooks (those I have managed to save) and they still seem to have some mites/ticks. They seem healthy though, eating, drinking, scratching around etc .. .

so my question is, how often do I dip the chooks? how often do I spread Lime around?

I dont want to do it too often and harm the chooks. but also dont want to not do it often enough and let the mites/ticks take hold once more.

any advice will be soooo gratefully received.

hope you can help
    Cheers [​IMG]

2. jerseygirl1

jerseygirl1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2009
    Orange County, NY
    [​IMG]

You may want to have this moved to a different thread and get more answers

What are you using on them?

3. Drk_Wlf

Drk_Wlf Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2009
    Chautauqua County, NY
    [​IMG]