Keeping my 4 year old chickens out of my new garden

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by BLXchickens, Sep 11, 2012.

1. BLXchickens

BLXchickens New Egg

Sep 11, 2012
    Hi everyone,

I am totally new to all of this, I adopted 3 chickens from some friends a few months ago and am learning as I go, with a lot of help from this forum.

I have seen other posts on this topic but I was hoping for some advice specific to my chickens. I need to put up a fence of some sort to keep the girls out of the garden I just planted - how high does it need to be? I have 2 Americana's and 1 whose breed I don't know, they are about 4 years old.

They have never shown any interest in the garden before - I had melons, tomatoes, and basil planted and they ignored them completely. They have a huge yard to roam around in, a giant compost pile they love with every ounce of their being, fig and pomegrante trees to glean from...the garden is nothing compared to their other options, I figured. But when I planted the garden, one of the chickens immediately ripped up all my kale and broccoli seedlings. I've never seen them fly, I don't know if their wings were clipped, I've seen them jump up to a stoop maybe about a foot and a half off the ground.

I don't really think they care that much about the garden so I'm inclined to just put up a 2 foot fence around the perimeter, but I also don't want to waste my energy/time/money if they are just going to hop over it. What do you guys think?

Also, how much longer are these girls going to live? One of their same-age compaƱeras is already in chicken heaven, i'm told.

Thanks!!

2. WalkingOnSunshine

WalkingOnSunshine Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2008
    Ohio