Keeping records/Identification on your flock - Need suggestions!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by CowgirlHC, Oct 16, 2012.

1. CowgirlHC

CowgirlHC Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 12, 2012
    West Virginia
    Hi everyone! Newbie here! If you haven't seen in my newcomer post, I was into chickens probably 10 years ago starting with 4-H projects. As high school activities came followed by college, the chickens were too much for my grandparents in addition to the rest of the farm, so they had to find new homes. Fast forward, this past Easter we decided to get our daughter, now 19 months old, 8 peepers from tractor supply. She LOVED them! They started laying and seeing her face light up when she finds an egg in the box is priceless! Well, fast forward a little more, we have so many fans of her eggs we got a few more young hens and we're up to 1 rooster, a buff orpington she named Guke, aka Duke lol, and 19 hens, 6 ambers, 6 red star, 2 plymouth rock, 1 buff orpington, 1 golden star (I think), and 3 middle aged girls that I'm not 100% sure what are, but I think some kind of red star or some sort of cross there of. Anyways, what my intentions are is to be able to keep track of who we raised ourselves, who we bought, age, etc. I don't want to do wing bands, I want some sort of color coded leg bands. The problem I'm finding is you have to buy so many in a bundle and then they're all the same color, well unless you get the assorted option, but I just dont like those spiral kind for some reason. What do you all do to keep track? Especially when you have a lot of the same breeds that look identical? Any and all suggestions are welcome and very appreciated! Thanks!!

2. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop
    A lot of people use colored zip ties.

3. CowgirlHC

Oct 12, 2012
    West Virginia