Keeping roosters

Christina.Rich

Songster
Apr 30, 2018
Hi all,

I just recently created a thread to find out that 99% of the time, 2+ roosters cant really co exist together in the same run, no matter how many hens there are. I'm still new to things, and am learning something new every day from you awesome people.

So, now that I am educated on the fact that roosters cannot really coexist without them wanting to kill each other, I now would like to know how all of you people keep your roosters when you have more than 1. I am open to creating separate runs, coops, whatever works. I love my roos and would like to have a few of them, but also don't want to keep them in a cage all day. I want them to still have the ability to be outside, happy, and have a run of some sort. For the past week or so (since I got rooster #2) I have just been rotating them. One is in the run for 1/2 the day, the other is in the coop and vise versa. However, its not a good long term solution.

Long term, I want to specialize in bantam cochins so I will definitely have a couple cochin roosters too.

Show me your pictures, give me your advice & help a girl figure out what the best setup is for her birds :)

Thank you!

I keep 2 extra roosters for breeding, 1 on the flock and the other 2 in their own private quarters where they can see each other, talk to the girls, box at the fence. When I want chicks from "this one" I change places with him and the roo on the flock.

I keep 2 extra roosters for breeding, 1 on the flock and the other 2 in their own private quarters where they can see each other, talk to the girls, box at the fence. When I want chicks from "this one" I change places with him and the roo on the flock.

That’s not a bad idea. I’ll probably do the same! Do you by chance have a picture(s) of their quarters? Where it is located? How much space do they have?