Keeping the Chicadees warm

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by neely07, Apr 12, 2017.

1. neely07

neely07 New Egg

Apr 11, 2017
    Hickory Grove, SC
    Hey everyone!! This is my first time owning chickens. Just bought 3 Speckels Sussexes a couple days ago. Question is, is it okay to leave the heat lamp off during day time for a while when it is 80 degrees out and they are in a building with no air conditioner? I of course turn it on for them at night and so far they seem to be doing fine. Thanks for any help or responses.

2. Minnowey

Minnowey Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 30, 2016
    Northwest Oregon
    I'd certainly do that, I will under no circumstances give my chicks heat lamps, ever.

3. 21hens-incharge

21hens-incharge Overrun With Chickens

Mar 9, 2014
    Northern Colorado
    :welcome

They will be ok so long as the it is near 75 when you turn it off. Then back on before it cools off below 75. Each week they can handle cooler temps. Not a lot cooler though. By 6 weeks mine are off extra heat but then I have lots more and they can snuggle.

A caution about heat lamps....
    Make sure it is secure and is impossible to knock down and then secure it more. We read every year about fires caused by heat lamps.

That said I am using a heat lamp. Mine is secured to a chain and that to an eye bolt. The chain is doubled up and has carabiners in several places.

Be safe!

1 person likes this.
  4. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator