Keet doesn't walk right......

horseychick2

In the Brooder
8 Years
Jul 25, 2011
Monroe, NJ
I got 7 guinea keets and 2 polish chicks almost a week ago. 3 of the keets are a little over a week old, and the other 4 are 1 week today. The chicks are somewhere inbetween. But one of the larger keets waddles instead of walks. S/he doesn't walk like the others. And s/he also crouches down a lot. S/he sometimes crawls too. Does anyone have any idea what might be wrong? This is my first time raising birds, and I just want them all happy and healthy.

Check her tendons over the back of her hocks... if they move to the side as you bend the hock she may have a double case of slipped tendons. Difficult condition to fix, and a painful condition for the keet to live with. If left alone it will never heal and she'll never get up off her hocks. See if you can google some info on slipped tendons in poultry. Unless you are successful at fixing the problem, or you want to pay an avian vet big bucks to do surgery on the keet, she may need to be put down.
hit.gif

Sorry I didn't have more positive advice for you, but I've dealt with it before, and after a few days of the keet still suffering after my attempts to help fix it, I ended up putting the keet down
sad.png

Aww I hope it doesn't come to that. She doesn't look to be in pain, but i don't know. I will check her now. Thanks for the info.

I checked her and nothing seems to be wrong. It just looks like her feet are kind of turned out. When she crouches, her feet are out to the side.
hu.gif

If her feet are turned out, still sounds like slipped tendons to me
hu.gif
The tendons move to the outside of the joints because they have slipped out of the grooves, rather than moving back and forth over the hocks (in the groove). Once the tendons move to the side of the joint the keet can't stand. It hurts and limits the strength she needs to stand.