1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Kentuckiana Roll Call

Discussion in 'Where am I? Where are you!' started by wyldehorses, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. wyldehorses

    wyldehorses Chillin' With My Peeps

    286
    0
    149
    Apr 12, 2007
    Kentucky
    Let's start a post with everyone from this area checking in with where you are, what you raise, and any info you want to share about family or hobbies.
     
  2. wyldehorses

    wyldehorses Chillin' With My Peeps

    286
    0
    149
    Apr 12, 2007
    Kentucky
    I live Mount Eden, Ky.

    I raise way to many breeds, but am seriously working on my exhibition d'uccles, polish, sumatras, cochins (smooth and frizzle), and favorelles.

    I also have d'anvers, silkies, wyandottes, naked necks, ameraucana, sultans, and phoenix. (All bantams) And in standard, I have Pitt Games (exhibition only). I also have some call ducks, mandarins, button quail, quail, and pheasants.

    And let's not forget the horses, dogs, cats, and goat.

    Yolonda
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2008
  3. cthrash1

    cthrash1 Chillin' With My Peeps

    Apr 15, 2008
    Somerset, KY
    Hi Yolanda,

    I'm in Somerset and I really don't raise anything yet but have everything going on. Hopefully will be a little more organized with some of the crew by Spring. Weather and Hubby permitting...

    I have a Chi-a-pom named Foxy, she is 13 yrs old and is only mine. Although recently she has been going up to hubby voluntarily. Then we have a Sheltie that is 8 yrs old, she takes her position in the family very seriously but she is also a sweet dog. She likes to herd anything she can chase and she really dislikes moles.

    My DS has a Lionhead bunny named Gravy, appropriately named because she is the color of Turkey gravy. She is very laid back and easy to handle and cuddle. Gravy is now 3 yrs old. She hops crooked because one of my BFFs kids handled her w/out permission or supervision and hurt her leg or hip but she's a trooper.

    All of my poultry is listed in the sig below...We bought the Call Ducks because DS is going to use them as one of the fowl breeds for 4-H.

    I have a great hubby and a son (10) and daughter (18)...My son likes to swim and play sports and my daughter is in college and is on the swim team.

    Cindy
     
  4. FrChuckW

    FrChuckW Father to all, Dad to none

    Sep 7, 2008
    Louisville, KY
    I'm In Louisville, KY, retired clergy, frustrated farmer. LOL

    I have 6 Min Pins(all rescues), fantail and homing pigeons, American Parakeets and English Budgies, Zebra Finches, Ring Kneck Doves, 30 tanks of tropical fish.

    I usually do a small garden each year, am currently building a new loft for the pigeons, and then will build a coop to raise the chickens in. Unfortunately, we are only allowed 4 non-crowing birds and one crowing bird here in the city, although I think I can skip the roo and just get the pullets.

    Other hobbies and interests include quilting, some crochet, home repair/remodeling,

    I have been looking at the different hatchery websites and have ordered their catalogues, but most require a minimum order of 25 chicks. We'll see what happens when I get the coop and run built.
     

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by