Kipp Glazier New Egg Farm Name

kglazier

Chirping
May 17, 2013
Raleigh, NC
I am fairly new to BYC. I live with my wife, daughter, and MIL (ugh) in Wrightsboro. It's a suburb of Wilmington North Carolina.

Currently I have:
pullets:
2 white leghorns 10 months old.
2 Rhode Island Reds 10 months old.
2 cookoo marans 12 months old.
7 Buff Os 5 months old.
2 RIR/lakenvelder mix 7 months old.
2 bantams.
Rosters:
1 RIR/lakenvelder mix 7 months old.
1 large serama. He is a very good Roo. findd foods for the hens when they're ranging. Let them eat first. Watches for predators. Drew the attention of a fox away from the hens. our dog was able to chase the Fox away. Unfortunately i've had to put him and the two Bantam in their own coop. The day the other roosters started acting like a rooster the serama tried to kill him. I know that's the way of things but I wish they could've stayed in the same coop. Interesting seeing a tiny little chicken beat the heck out of a chicken 5 x its size.

My daughter has named them all. How she tells the buffs apart I have no idea.

I'm looking for ideas for the name of our little chicken ranch. I have a waiting list for eggs. And I think I'm going to start some boilers this spring. I know it's really a farm not a ranch but I like the word ranch better.

Tell me how you came up with the name for your farm or ranch.

I'm going to start selling eggs at a local flea market and to neighbors. I'd like to do business with a good name.

Last edited:
Welcome in, nice group of birds. If your serious about selling you might want to look at concentrating on a laying breed that will produce for you. If it only part-time a mix flock is fine.

As for name, go "local" whatever you use. Local landmarks, local history, location of your farm, particular scene around your farm. We sell lots of honey and folks want it local, not shipped in. We went thru a lot of name suggestions before finally settling on ours. Good luck with your endeavor.

Alright