1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

L Brahma sex

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by xcalibor67, May 6, 2017.

1. xcalibor67

xcalibor67 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2017
    Heres a couple of pics of my L. Brahma. I got 2 at the same time, but this one was older so its hard to compare them. Hoping its a hen, but starting to wonder.According to the seller this chick should be about 8/9 weeks old. The thing that has me wondering is the attitude it has toward another chick i have, which is a 6week old EE, which im pretty sure is a roo. I have seen this Brahma challenge the smaller EE on several occasions, and vice versa.. I havent noticed it doing this with any other chicks. I am new to raising chicks, so my knowledge is very limited. I have read up on the pecking order, but these 2 seem to show a different attitude towards each other. I couldnt really see 3 rows on the comb, but it does look sorta large, and does show signs of pink wattles. As far as the tail feathers, all i see is fluff. not really developing fast.I also noticed is the rather large looking legs. I told my daughter, at least im gaining experience (Hopefully) by watching their behavior. Thanks for any help.[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Leah567

Leah567 Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Apr 3, 2017
    Texas
    My Coop
    Maybe rooster. Its a little hard to tell. that young with that red of a face and thick legs is probably rooster. Might have to wait a few weeks

Last edited: May 6, 2017
  3. xcalibor67

xcalibor67 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2017