Lame Chicken please help.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by AnsaRoux, Feb 22, 2015.

1. AnsaRoux

AnsaRoux New Egg

Feb 20, 2015
    South Africa
    Hi guys, I am new to BYC and to having chickens, I have 5 week old, Cornish Crosses. Over a week ago I noticed that one of my birds isn't walking right, he was off balance and would sit with his legs in the air in front of him, well a few days later he was fine. Then it started again now he is unable to walk at all. He does not seem sick, eyes are clear, eats and drinks well, but he can't walk. I have included a pic. (the purple on his wings is just Gentian violet, the other chickens was picking on him) Does anyone have an idea what could be wrong with him?
    [​IMG]

2. Outpost JWB

Outpost JWB Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2014
    Ohio
    Check the bottoms of his feet. Could be bumblefoot. Another possibility is that your bird is ready to be butchered. I don't keep this breed, so check with someone who does first, but this breed has been designed to get fat quick. Sometimes their legs cannot hold their weight.

Other diseases possible are Marek's and Newcastle, vitamin D or K deficiency. Good luck and keep my updated please.

3. AnsaRoux

AnsaRoux New Egg

Feb 20, 2015
    South Africa
    Hi Outpost JWB, thanks for your reply. I have checked the bottom of his feet, there is no problems there, he doesn't have the symptoms for Marek's (I read that it kills fast and he has been like this for almost 2 weeks), all of the chickens has been vaccinated for Newcastle. I have read that this breed tends to have problems with there bones (growing to fast). I am looking to buy another breed, but we live close to a small town, Kokstad, in KZN, South Africa, and the hatchery only sells the Cornish Cross. I will look into the vit. K deficiency, he gets a lot of vit. D [​IMG]

4. rebrascora

rebrascora Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 14, 2014
    Consett Co.Durham. UK