1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

large 3" bleeding open wound; other chicken pecking HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by jeanne25, Sep 17, 2011.

1. jeanne25

jeanne25 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 23, 2011
    St. Louis, MO
    All 7 of our chickens were fine this morning; at least everything seemed fine. They are in a safe run and coop; nothing can get in. My husband went to check for eggs just now and saw six of the chickens pecking and scratching one of the barred rocks. The area at the end of her back, slightly to the left of her tail feathers is bloody and torn up. I can see veins. She is limping and making lots of noise. We separated her from the rest until we can figure out what to do. I'm a nurse and it looks bad. I don't know if I should try to dress it or put her out of her misery. If someone can tell me how to add a picture, I took one.
    Thanks for your help

2. yankeedoodle300

yankeedoodle300 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2011
    Chicken Heaven
    try to dress it, and if you don't make progress in 30-60 minuets... Put her out of her misery. [​IMG] and good luck [​IMG]

3. hennyannie

hennyannie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2011
    North Carolina
    Try to treat it first, I have seen horrific wounds like this heal well. I use blood stop powder, after cleaning the wound. You can also clean it as you would a human and use antibotic cream or really anything you have.

4. yankeedoodle300

yankeedoodle300 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2011
    Chicken Heaven
    and " New Eggs " cant post pics. If your " Post " column gets to 50, you can post. so just post Gibberish

5. jeanne25

Apr 23, 2011
    St. Louis, MO
    Thanks for your input.
    We had to end her misery.