Large squishy crop- not sour smelling and eventually reduces in size

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by pwiddy, Jun 12, 2011.

1. pwiddy

pwiddy New Egg

Jun 12, 2011
    Hi all,

Any help would be appreciated. I'm very new to chickens, just picked up my very first chickens a week ago, so i apologise if this has been discussed many times before.

1) What type of bird , age and weight. Ex bat isa brown. 18 months. now just 1.8kg [​IMG]
    2) What is the behavior, exactly. i only just picked up my 2 hens (very first hens) a week ago. i noticed Wednesday that one had a very large and hard crop that wasn't going down. She was also doing bright green poo. i wormed them on Friday (aristopet poultry wormer.) When i checked at lunchtime friday the crop was normal but when i returned 4 hours later is was swelled up like a huge balloon but it was soft and not rock hard like before. Since then it has been swelling, reducing then swelling again- but never down to normal crop size. It's almost like a tiny bit can get through, but not everything. The crop is still big in the morning & there is no bad smell.
    3) How long has the bird been exhibiting symptoms? rock hard crop i guess from when we first got her last Sunday. Soft full crop since Friday
    4) Are other birds exhibiting the same symptoms? no
    5) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma. no
    6) What happened, if anything that you know of, that may have caused the situation. not sure- ex bat hen.
    7) What has the bird been eating and drinking, if at all. Normally layer pellets and organic mash with veggie scraps and shell grit. Since Friday i have been giving her small amounts of soaked layer pellets. She is acting like nothing is wrong and is very happy to eat and eat and eat
    8) How does the poop look? Normal? Bloody? Runny? etc. Green and runny. Today it was slightly more yellow than green and slightly more solid