Last day to turn the eggs! So excited! Anyone else?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Kbruce, Nov 19, 2011.

1. Kbruce

Kbruce Out Of The Brooder

Oct 28, 2011
    North Carolina
    Hi this is my first time hatching eggs and I'm so excited! Today is the last day I turn them so lockdown tomorrow and we'll see what happens...everything seems fine up till now air cells, veins, movement when candling! I have 6 Cochin bantam eggs and two blue Araucana eggs in the incubator. Do I need to do anything else besides increase the humidity and leave them alone? Should I put them in an egg carton to hatch or do you let them hatch on that grill thing? It seems so hard to me shouldn't it be softer?
    and if anyone else is due let me know!
    Guess I'm just nervous [​IMG]

2. Glenmar

Glenmar Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 17, 2011
    VIRGINIA
    I just lay them on their sides to hatch. You are on the right track.

[​IMG]

3. GrannysRoost

GrannysRoost Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2011
    Casa Grande
    I'm still turning a couple times tomorrow, but lockdown about 6. After candling today I have 5 silkies for sure going good, 2 maybe's, and can't see a blasted thing in my marans eggs so all are staying in. You can put paper towels down on the wire and makes it easier to clean too! Good Luck!

4. seminolewind

seminolewind Flock Mistress Premium Member

Sep 6, 2007
    spring hill, florida
    My lockdown is tomorrow!

5. jeslewmazer

jeslewmazer Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 24, 2009
    Mississippi