Last night's visitors-- coop pics

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by upstate_nyer, Jul 31, 2011.

1. upstate_nyer

upstate_nyer Out Of The Brooder

Jul 31, 2011
    We lost 3 out of 4 hens a few weeks ago. I'm a total beginner at this, so it was unexpected and devastating! I had to clean up the blood, gnawed chicken feet and wing feathers (all that was left) before our young daughter caught on. In any case, I noticed something trying to dig under our coop the past few nights, and set up a trail cam. Got some pretty amazing pics, which I thought I'd share!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Tonight I'll put marshmallows in the Have-a-Heart trap and see if they come back....

2. bufforp89

bufforp89 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2009
    Chenango Forks NY
    [​IMG] They are the worst and they will deff be back....good pics as well

3. ChooksinChoppers

ChooksinChoppers Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2011
    Ocala, Florida.
    Oh Wow! Thats a BIG Coon....compaired to the height of the door to run area (which I am presuming it is people height?) How is it getting to your chickens though? Is there only chicken wire ventilation areas on the Coop part which he is reaching through to grab them? If so I would invest in some hardware cloth and redo ALL the wire on that coop and run. NICE looking setup you have though! oh and [​IMG]
    IF you catch that one keep resetting your trap though....where there is one there is more.

4. GA_in_GA

GA_in_GA Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2011
    Southwest Georgia
    That is a good sized coon! Do you have a hardware cloth apron around the mini-coop/run? You did not say if the chickens were taken from the coop or if they were free-ranging. Sorry you had to experience your loss.

I have the same coop - though now it is contained within a roofed 8' x 16' hardware cloth enclosed run. Also have a 2' hardware cloth apron surrounding the run.

Last edited: Jul 31, 2011
  5. nobodyherebutuschickens