Last Year I Started Beekeeping - So Exciting

Orpy Lady

In the Brooder
10 Years
Feb 11, 2009
I found that you are never too old in life to start a new hobby.

Last year I decided to keep bees and joined a bee club and before you knew it I was off getting this and that and now have two hives of bees! The enjoyment and satisfaction of eating your own honey and knowing where it comes from is very rewarding.
The bees are very gentle and I do not need to smoke them much when I take away the frames of honey for the extraction thereof.
At the moment as it is our winter over here, I am feeding them with fondant to help them keep happy and well fed in the hive for the spring flowers which hopefully will start in February.

Has anybody else got bees as I am learning all the while and need more information and each week I learn as much as I can to help my bees.
Sandy

D.gif

Last edited:
I need to buy a hive. I'm new to this, for the frames, do I just need one deep and one shallow?

I started with 2 deeps for brood boxes for each hive.

Some folks start with 3 mediums for brood boxes.

I will tell you that if you have any back or shoulder problems I would go with the mediums instead of the deeps, because of the weight.

Another thing is with all mediums you don't have to inventory all the different components for all the different types of supers.

Around here, I don't know of any one that uses shallow supers for honey production.

As far as I have seen, they all use mediums.

Wow, never would have thought about baking fondant. I gave the bees the 2 to 1 sugar water so they can get It packed away in the comb before winter.
So, once it really cools down, switch to fondant. Then in jan/feb, switch to pollen patties to stimulate brood rearing.
There is so much to learn! Do you even feed established hives? Or is this just a first year thing? Just curious.