Late February, the hens aint laying....

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by sarahroberts, Feb 23, 2017.

1. sarahroberts

sarahroberts Just Hatched

Feb 23, 2017
    Strangely I've noticed my hens have stopped laying their eggs. I live in upstate ny and always have a warming light on them to keep them comfortable when the weather becomes brutal. This is my first year keeping chickens and all has been well until this past week. I feed them layer crumble the same brand. For water they get a huge thing in the morning full but I go out later in the evening and pull it out of their coop because it will freeze over night I've done this since the nights became below freezing (octoberish) and they seem okay with it. If the weather is cold i will keep them in the coop with the door shut, other wise I'll open it for a few hours or for the day so they can get some fresh air or go out. Up until now I haven't had a problem they were laying as much as in the summer time. I clean the coop as best as I can however its hard because their poop tends to freeze to the floor being as it's not properly insulated. I did think they were eating their eggs at one point just because I will leave a few in there for them knowing they will get extra nutrients out of it. Slowly I realized they just weren't laying. Their temperament have been the same although I do have two roosters in there (thanks to me picking unsexed chicks at the store) but my hens never are bothered by them. I read how winter can change a chicken's laying habit but it's now late February and the sun is staying up longer so I'm confused as to why they are behaving like this...Thoughts? Comments??

2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Let It Snow Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin