Late hatch failure

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Bush84, May 6, 2017.

1. Bush84

Bush84 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 4, 2015
    Kensington, mn
    Hello all. I have been hatching eggs for about a year. This is my fourth batch. So I've done it but I wouldn't say I am well seasoned by any means. My prior hatches have all gone very well, especially considering my first were shipped eggs. I have a brinsea octo eco 20. Temp and humidity are all monitored my a second digital thermometer and they have been properly calibrated. At shutdown my humidity never has issues staying up and vents are wide open. Temp regulation seems to generally be spot on. I also minimize opening the incubator at hatch. When I do I generally use a syringe and iv tubing to squirt water into the unit and the humidity pops right up.

So now that my background is done, my last batch had 17 of 24 hatch. I guess I wouldn't normally stress about that number except 6 out of those 7 were essentially fully developed. One had made an external pip. The others don't even appear to have pipped internally. Some yolk still left upon autopsy. I'm not sure what went wrong. Like I said I would probably brush off those sever except for the fact that they were developed. If I messed something up I'd like to correct it. Ideas? Or is just something that happens?

2. Chicken Chat

Chicken Chat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2009
    Southern Illinois