Late Hatch - What's going on?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Eggscalibur, Jul 21, 2010.

1. Eggscalibur

Eggscalibur Out Of The Brooder

Dec 19, 2009
    This is my first attempt at incubating eggs, and I currently have 11 in the incubator. I am at the end of day 22, with no sign of pips. I do, however, see the eggs periodically rocking back and forth, as if there is movement inside. Development looked good during candling up to day 18. Temp has more or less held steady between 99-100, with humidity around 75% after Day 18 (humidity has been a bit of a struggle). What should I do? Is there still hope for a healthy hatch? If so, how long should I hold out?

2. ADozenGirlz

ADozenGirlz The Chicken Chick[IMG]emojione/assets/png/00ae.png

Oct 18, 2009
    Connecticut
    Quote:If they're rocking in there, I wouldn't give up hope. Could you be a day off on your count? Rocking is a good sign that they're alive and trying to get to the business of cracking through the membrane and shell. I would wait until there is no activity to throw in the towel. My suspicion is that the count is off a little given that NONE of the 11 have hatched yet. My money is on pips by morning. [​IMG]

Keep us posted!

Last edited: Jul 21, 2010
  3. Eggscalibur

Dec 19, 2009
    Thanks. Count is definitely right - I wrote it on the calendar and have counted and recounted. But hey, if the chicks say I'm wrong, I'm okay with that. I just hope I don't go cross-eyed staring through the little window waiting for something to happen!

4. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    If they're rocking you're still in good shape. What kind of thermometer are you using? Sometimes they can be off by half a degree or more. If you were running the incubator a smidge low on temps, they babies will be fine but they'll hatch late. Good luck--I wouldn't worry yet!

5. geebs

geebs Lovin' the Lowriders!

Sep 28, 2008