Lavender roo and blue wynadotte hen

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by lavmom, Jan 31, 2012.

1. lavmom

lavmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 31, 2012
    Wendell, NC
    Hi all. I am new to having chickens. I have a lavender orpington rooster, two lavender orpington hens, two blue wynadotte hens. Can I put then in the same pen? What will the chicks of the lav roo and blue wynadotte look like?

Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  2. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    Lav x Blue = 50% blue 50% black.

Lavender is a recessive gene so you won't see anything out of it until you either breed back to Lavender again or breed the first generation "splits" to each other.

3. lavmom

Jan 31, 2012
    Wendell, NC
    Thanks Illia!! I also have two Ole English Bantam lavender mottled hens, which I was told are rare. Would I have to find the exact same in a a rooster? I have no idea where to start with that. [​IMG]

4. AquaEyes

AquaEyes Chillin' With My Peeps

Lavender Mottled = Black Mottled + 2 copies of the Lavender gene. You can find Black Mottled roos to breed with your hens. Offspring will be Black Mottled split to Lavender. If you breed one of these splits back to a Lavender Mottled, 50% of those offspring will be Lavender Mottled, and the other 50% will be Black Mottled split to Lavender.

[​IMG]

5. lavmom

Jan 31, 2012
    Wendell, NC
    You're AWESOME!! Thank you so much!

6. Chris09

Chris09 Circle (M) Ranch

Jun 1, 2009
    Ohio
    When referring to a color/ variety of Old English Game Bantam the color/variety is a Pearl not, "Lavender Mottled".
    Pearl is Self Blue (Lavender) + Mottle.

Chris .

Last edited: Feb 3, 2012
  7. AquaEyes

AquaEyes Chillin' With My Peeps